Heart: The Perfect V-Day Treat!

Nothing says “I love you” like zinc, selenium, and CoQ10!

In honor of V-Day I’m gonna talk about something I LOVE: Organ meats! Okay fine, I don’t love them, but I really like how healthy they are. Offal bits like tongue, liver, heart, kidneys, sweetbreads (that’s pancreas, btw), and blood have been consumed by native peoples for a bazillion years because they are super nutrient-dense and contain vitamins and minerals that are hard to get from other sources. Plus, when animals kill other animals, the guts are the first down the hatch. Also, just to clarify, I’m not talking about pâté from Ralph’s or a skewer of street meat from Chinatown. I’m talking about organs from quality organic, grass-fed, hormone-free beef and pork and/ or organic, pasture-raised fowl and/ or Colin the chicken from this Portlandia sketch. If you want to get your offal on, you’ll probably have to go to a farmers market or a local butcher like this amazeballs place in my hood. OMG I’m trying sooooooo hard not to end this with the phrase eat your heart out. Fuck. I hate myself.

It beats for you!

It beats for you!